RSS

We will Leave our Imprint

06 Sep

Sometimes I wish my little phone camera could catch with greater depths the beauty I see.

I woke up this morning, walked into our kitchen, passed by glass doors covered with smudges and little hand prints.

Out passed those doors a morning mist was gently moving across a dark and still lake.

Stepping closer to our kitchen windows I caught sight of what inspired me to write this morning- one window among a row of windows, covered in dew.

A tiny slug must have made its way across this window pane.

And every where it went, behind it was left its trail.

The slug is gone, but the trial remains and what is left is an intricately beautiful history web.

Like a flash of lighting caught on a dew canvas, with bolts that lead to the morning sun…

I want my life to leave an imprint such as this.

If I could only see it all the time,

How every moment and every choice,
like finger prints on a glass door, are leaving their mark.

And sometimes we… or maybe just I… feel like I am a mess, like I am all over the place.

Because like my little camera, I can’t seem to focus on the beauty in the picture.

I fail to capture the beautiful web that only God can see.

And sometimes our lives can feel so small, so worthless, so terribly finite, like a morning mist and the dew that is here and then gone.

And yet the truth is, our lives and the tracks we leave can be infinite…

Can lead others to the Son.

So here are my pictures of kitchen windows, slug tracks and finger prints on doors.

I pray this morning they might inspire someone else as well to consider how every touch leaves its mark, every word leaves its trail.

And we will leave our imprint.

May we see that and see it well.

IMG_2512.JPG

IMG_2520.JPG

IMG_2507.JPG

IMG_2515.JPG

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “We will Leave our Imprint

  1. aphroditeanderson

    September 6, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Oh beautiful 🙂

     
  2. T

    September 6, 2014 at 9:32 am

    Your thoughts today are so beautiful and so true. Our actions and words have the power to change lives for the better and not so good too.. I pray that the imprint I leave behind will be inspiring to others and and pleasing to the Lord. Thank you for this very inspiring and thought provoking post.

     

Leave a comment