RSS

You are Beautiful

18 Jul

20140718-213058-77458607.jpg

So there is a new post trend starting that I wanted to reflect on a little bit. The trend? “Post 5 pictures that make you feel beautiful.” You post, you tag 5 people and they need to do the same.

And so my news feed is slowly filling up with “beautiful” pictures of my friends and family. And I don’t say that sarcastically. Truly, each and every one is beautiful… But here is the thing… I look at all those pictures and immediately some other pictures come to mind:

Pictures of Jesus.

For God so loved the world that he sent his only begotten son so that whosoever believed in him shall not perish but have everlasting life…
– John 3:16

So loved…

So treasured…

So considered each and every person worthy and truly marvelous.

Oh, that we would truly believe:

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
– Psalm 139:13-14

And I wonder as I scroll through my news feed, seeing selfie after selfie…

Do we really know it?

Do we really know we are beautiful?

Or are we sitting and wait for comments? For validation? For someone to say, “Yes, you are beautiful!”

If you are…

Can I tell you something?

Somebody already said that.

We don’t need to hang our beauty on the words or lack of words in the comments of our “selfies.” We can hang our beauty on the One True Word.

May we remember that the fullness of our beauty isn’t found in our face, but in His.

And when we get tempted to base our beauty by our positions and our accomplishments,

We may remember:

We greatly underestimate our beauty if we base our beauty on our position and accomplishments.

For the fullness of our beauty isn’t found in our position here, but the fact that the Word of God tells us that through Christ we are seated there, in heavenly places with the very maker of the heavens.

But God, who is rich in mercy, out of the great love with which he loved us even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you have been saved- and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the ages to come he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.”
– Ephesians 2:4-7

We can know we are beautiful, so SO beautiful, not because of what we do or have done, but because of what HE did.

And here is thing about knowing how precious and beautiful you are to God.

When you know, truly know, just how beautiful you are to God, it opens your eyes to the outrageous and overwhelming truth that every single person you see is beautiful to God.

Every single person was and is worth reaching out for, drawing a line in the sand for…

Worth sitting with and laughing with, listening to and talking with…

Living for, dying for…

They were are all worth it.

And I pray you know that reader and friend.

I pray you know that YOU were worth it.

YOU ARE beautiful.

Not just five times over, but infinitely over.

YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL in the eyes of our most beautiful God.

Your beauty is found in HIS beauty and your worth is found in HIS.

Colossians 3:2-4
New Living Translation (NLT)

Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God. And when Christ, who is your life, is revealed to the whole world, you will share in all his glory.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “You are Beautiful

  1. Rebeca Jones

    July 23, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    I too, saw the ‘post 5 pics’ in my FB news feed. It made me sad because I can’t think of a single photo I have that actually makes me feel beautiful. (I know I have issues!) I know what you say is true, yet I cannot seem to get the intellectual knowledge that our God thinks I’m beautiful to settle into my heart. I pray this will happen, because I know that you are right as well, that if I can really grasp this, I will see others as beautiful too. I get glimmers of this. I know I will get there, by His gentle leading. But for now, words like yours here will have to be my reminders. Thank you for a lovely, lovely post!

     
    • What Matters Most- A Mother's Devotional

      July 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

      I am praying for you, Rebecca. Because you are right, you will get there by his gentle leading… And his gentle reminders. Start looking for them- those gentle reminders. It may be a flower in bloom at your feet, a butterfly that gently flutters by when you are feeling down, the sight of a simply incredible sunset. I pray your eyes start to see and your heart start to hear him gently whispering over and over again, “You are beautiful.” Because you are. In every. Single. Picture. And every time you look in the mirror, may your heart hear his whisper, “You are beautiful.” Because you are. You are his.

       

Leave a Reply

 
