RSS

When All Hell Breaks Loose

17 Jul

So today another plane came down… I believe they said there were 295 passengers… 295 living, breathing, heart-beating and feeling people who had plans and purposes and loved ones on the ground… And they are gone, just like that. And it hit the news hard, hit the ground harder… And for this pilot’s wife… It hits just too close to home.

And fear starts to creep in. Where did it happen? Does he fly over there? And let’s go ahead and include the obvious fact that he is so often one of those living, breathing, heart-beating people that is flying over our heads in an airplane. It is his job after all…

And somewhere a wife’s husband just fell from the sky and the sobering thought once again impedes that it could have been mine and what exactly do I do with that?

I will tell you what I have made up my mind to do: Trust God and live this life He gives us to its fullest. Thank Him for every day, truly every moment because you just don’t know when it all is going to come to an end.

And I stop and pray, allow my heart to feel and cry for a loss that could have been mine, but I don’t allow it to stop me from living. I don’t allow it to steal my peace or promote my heart to any further fear, because fear has no place in the presence of perfect love.

And I know that there is a God who perfectly loves me, my family, and my husband. I know that his plans and purposes transcend what I can grasp. And I choose to trust in his promise that he will work all things for good- All things- for those who love him and trust him.

And I pray that each of you would know that too- that God loves you perfectly. That you can trust him. When all hell seems to be breaking loose in this world, you can still be filled with heaven’s peace. You can still smile. You can still enjoy and praise him for all that is wonderful and good here because there is SO SO much that is wonderful and good. Too much to report.

Say a prayer for comfort and strength for those who are hurting tonight and at the same time please stop and thank God for all in your life and all in this world that is good. Thank him for his plans for your life- for the things he has done and the things he will do. Allow that praise to usher in peace and sleep well in that perfect peace.

That is my plan for tonight. I pray you join me.

You will keep whoever’s mind is steadfast in perfect peace, because he trusts in you. – Isaiah 26:3

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
