RSS

“This is one of those moments”

17 May

I am not going to be able to put into words what all is on my heart about the pictures I am about to share.

Our little girl and I (and our youngest son who was asleep in his stroller) picked out some things from a church sale today. We filled up our bag and before leaving she noticed one book that she really wanted. I had already paid but went ahead and took out one more dollar for the little book in her hand. She smiled, paid and got her change.

I told her we should put the items in our van before meeting my mom and the rest of our crew for the other activities. She happily bounced along my side with her book in hand.

We walked on a sidewalk through the church grounds and came near a little bench. It looked more decorative than anything else, not really a bench you would stop to sit on, especially not in the middle of your agenda. But she rushed ahead of me and hopped right over on to that bench. She said to me “Sit mama. This is a good place to read.”

I was going to to tell her to come along. This wasn’t really part of my agenda. My mom and the other children were already starting lunch and we needed to get to them. But then I began to feel in my spirit a gentle pushing towards that bench and it dawned on me- the words coming as one simple thought: “This is one of those moments.”

Everyday we are given so many moments. So many things to do. It is so easy to miss the God moments for our moments. I do it all the time. I didn’t want to miss another. I walked over to her. I sat down on that flower bed bench in the middle of the church grounds. Baby boy still asleep in his stroller. I looked at our little girl who smiled and said words I cannot shake, “There is a time to read. There is a time to rest.”

Yes, in the middle of all the busyness this little girl was able to sense it- the time to rest. How often do I miss that!

We sat there reading about the runaway bunny and I saw myself in that story- the seasons of my life when I ran away from God, only to have him find me still. I became a fish headed out to sea. He became the fisherman. I became the free bird. He became the tree I came home to. And still- still I runaway so much- on my own agendas.

Earlier this week I rush off somewhat grumpy to the grocery store. He found me in the parking lot- I felt his spirit in the man loading up my groceries singing “My cup runneth over.”

We rush so much, run so much and yet he finds us.

His word is always available to read.
Many times it is read through places and faces and not just words on a page.

His rest is always available to receive.
And it is found in the most unlikely of places- like random benches in flower beds.

I pray for whoever reads this- that when those moments come, you feel it in your spirit. “This is one of those moments.” May you hear in your spirit those words. There is a time to read. There is a time to rest. There is a time to be found. May you experience all those wonderful times as I did today reading with a little girl who could sénse the time better than I.

2015/05/img_5258.jpg

2015/05/img_5262.jpg

2015/05/img_5260.jpg

2015/05/img_5261.jpg

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to ““This is one of those moments”

  1. bface2face

    June 24, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Precious. I loved this post! I rush thru so much of my day… The. Wonder why exhaustion is my companion. Today I purpose to be aware of the moments. To be present. To take the opportunity to sit still and “just BE”.
    Love this post… Did I already say that? 🙂

     
  2. brendajohnsonstroth

    July 7, 2015 at 6:41 pm

    Thank you again for sharing such a precious moment of your life. I love hearing your stories… Watching you patent with such love and devotion. How Great is our ABBA! This brings back memories of my precious ones when they were little. Precious, precious memories💗
    I already commented but I just re-read this and was touched all over again!

     
    • What Matters Most- A Mother's Devotional

      August 23, 2015 at 10:51 pm

      Thank you so much for visiting with me again. Seeing your words here put a smile on my face. It’s been a busy season for me with homeschooling and ministry at our church. I feel like I haven’t been blogging like I used to- but I hope to get back to it more as the Lord leads. Our Abba is awesome. His love empowers us to love and his light to see the moments for the gifts that they are :). I pray you see and take note of those moments this next week. Write them down as your own altar of thanks and praise. And if you blog about one of those moments please share the link with me. I would love to hear about it.

       

Leave a comment