RSS

“I am Famous!”

24 Mar

Our daughters had their picture published in a local magazine promoting the local library’s story time. Upon seeing it, our four year-old daughter got so excited exclaiming, “I am famous!”

As more friends mentioned it to her and even asked for her autograph, it only added fuel to her joyous fire. “I am Famous!”

What is it about mankind that deep in us is a desire to be known? To be famous?

Oh- sure- deny it if you want but I am sure at some point, perhaps as a young child- the desire was there.

And perhaps it is this- that we are made in the image of God. We are made in the image of a God who desires to be known by his people.

I had never really considered that until last night when tucking our “famous” four year-old into bed. I had to gently remind her that she was no more important to God whether she was “famous” among people or not. I wanted to make sure she knew that every person is “famous” to God- deeply loved by God, whether or not they ever have their picture taken or published in anything. They are known. They are loved. They are famous.

And as I told her these things a sad look came upon her face. Our little girl who has many times told me her hopes of being a doctor, said something unlike anything I have ever heard her say. She said this:

“But people in Africa don’t know me. I want them to know me, mama. I want to invite them to my church. I want them to come to our church. I pray for them mama. People die there, in Africa, mama. I pray for them. I want them to know me.”

Call me crazy, but in that moment, it was as if I was not hearing the words of a four year-old girl, but hearing the very heart cry of God.

Why? Why would God want us to know him?

Is it so he can brag to all the angels, “I am famous!”?

Perhaps.

But perhaps his heart cry is more one of this:

“People are dying. They are dying over there. I want to be with them. I want to invite them to be with me. I want to heal them. I want them to know me.”

Perhaps…

Perhaps this famous God isn’t famous to all, but he knows us all deeply, loves us all deeply and desires to be known.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to ““I am Famous!”

  1. hawkinsm6

    March 25, 2014 at 4:01 am

    Wow! Not often moved to tears by a post. Thank you and thank your daughter for her precious heart. So well written! So true to God’s heart too. Did I say thank you?

     
    • Charity

      March 26, 2014 at 1:06 am

      🙂 You are welcome.

       
  2. Cindy Graves

    March 26, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    This is so beautiful! Charity, your mom told me about this post and encouraged me to find it. I’m so glad I did. Your children are a joy to me anytime I see them at the library. I’m happy to have made the girls MORE “famous”. Of course….as you know…they already were! I hope to see them again soon. – “Mrs. Cindy”

     

Leave a Reply

 
