RSS

Pin This to Your Heart

05 Mar

Some time ago my dear friend gave me a little pin. It was the shape of a shield, on a little paper that said “Faith.” On the front of the shield was a cross. On the back of the shield was the following engraving: Joshua 1:9b.

It took me sometime to notice that. I pinned it on my little purse at first. At some point I lost the little clasp that held it in place. Since then it has been dropped, lost, stepped on… Seriously stepped on- I mean find it stuck in the bottom of my boot stepped on- cross barely distinguishable from being scraped off further and further from being stepped on. But if you look closely, there are still traces of the cross. I have picked it up dozens of times and put it in my pocket or purse only to be lost again. I have found it sweeping floors, sitting by my bathroom sink where I emptied my pockets the night before, found it in my dryer… Yep- it has taken a beating, gone through some heat, and yet- incredibly it keeps showing up. I keep finding it again and again.

I found it yesterday only moments after a moment where I entirely lost my cool- after a moment where the Jesus in me- like that cross on that little shield- was practically indistinguishable. There it was- this little, tiny battered shield, in the corner of the very room where my faith in myself felt so battered and trampled on by my own actions. Faith was there.

I picked it up, fully confident of this: I am held in the palm of my Makers hand. And you know what? So are you.

I don’t know what your week has been like. I don’t know if or where you may have lost faith in yourself- but tonight I want to encourage you with the very verse that is engraved on the back of this little pin:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

You know where strength and courage is often the hardest to get your clasp on? It is in those areas where time and time again you have failed. Those areas- where you know you have gone- only to fail- and truthfully you don’t want to go there again. You don’t want to try again because what if? What if you fail again? After all, you failed before! And it is YOU going there again. Isn’t it? Yes… And no.

It’s not just you. If God leads you to get up and try again- he is going there with you. Think about that.

So if tomorrow, you know you are stepping back into the very same place you failed today or yesterday. I want you to take heart tonight. I am.

I am going to get up and take on the very children that brought me to my knees because I know that is exactly what God has called me to do.

What are you going to take on? Whatever it is, I pray you take it on with new strength and courage tomorrow. Pin this to your heart tomorrow, dear friend, and keep the faith:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

20140305-224622.jpg

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Pin This to Your Heart

  1. Jenny

    March 6, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    I blogged about Joshua 1:9 yesterday too!

     
    • Charity

      March 10, 2014 at 10:55 pm

      Your daughter is precious 🙂

       
  2. Avonlea Q. Krueger

    March 12, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    Thank you! I’ve had one of those mornings (seems nearly every day is like that with three little boys!), and your post was a true encouragement to me!

     
    • Charity

      March 21, 2014 at 12:31 am

      Glad to hear it encouraged you. Our oldest three are boys… So I can totally relate :).

       

Leave a Reply

 
