RSS

Waging War Against the Grime

23 Feb

I spent a good part of the day cleaning our tile floors. (I know- so exciting. Who wants to do that truly?) We have brick tile floors throughout the house. I have a love hate relationship with them. I love that they hide dirt really well. I hate that when I finally make up my mind to really clean them it takes serious effort. Blame that on the grout lines. They get so dirty over time. It takes scrubbing. It takes mopping. And scrubbing. And mopping. And scrubbing. And mopping. And then sealing- because I sure don’t want to do this again any sooner than I need to. Truly not on my “want to do” list. Standing back from our dining room table this morning, I could tell it was truly what I needed to do. I could see the very bottoms of our kitchen cabinets with various splatters. It was time to wage war against the grime.

So my awesome mom kept out kids and I got to waging war. Filled up my hot water with cleaner, grabbed my scrub brush and got down on my knees. The view from down there revealed all kinds of gunk. Gross truly. That is what happens when life gets busy- things spill and splatter and in a hurry, we clean up as best as we can and move on. But truly, many times those spills and splatters are still there- way down- where we don’t see them. Get down on your knees and check out the bottom of your kitchen cabinets… Let me know what you find.

As I started the dreaded task I began to consider how in this very same way our hearts get muddied over time. The grime starts to build. And we usually don’t see it, because we have done a general clean up of that nasty attitude, those conversations that went wrong, those disappointments, those hurts, those moments of loneliness and defeat… We brushed them off and carried on. But often- if we get down deep enough- if we truly look close enough- there are traces. There is grime, old, set in grime in our heart.

And the greatest way to wage a war against grime is on our knees.

Pouring out our heart and tears to God, like cleanser and water being poured on a muddied floor. Allowing God to clean up all that grime with his truth. His words do that. They cleanse. They restore. And here is my favorite part- after our hearts have been made clean- they can be sealed. God can seal our hearts by His Spirit with such love that love itself is what pours in and fills all those crevices in our hearts where we have been so prone to hold on to the grime. We become so filled with his love that bitterness and hurt cannot set in so deeply anymore. We become so covered by his love that we literally start to shine.

I know- cleaning up your floors and even cleaning up your heart may not be on many of your “want to do” lists. But for those of you who are really starting to notice the grime… Perhaps it is time to wage a war, get things cleaned up, and start this next week sealed and shining.

20140223-000447.jpg

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Waging War Against the Grime

  1. Hopewell

    February 23, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    Beautiful word imagery and beautiful photo. Is that little ballerina your daughter? Lovely!

     
    • Charity

      February 23, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      Thank you, and yes. That is our little ballerina. 🙂

       
  2. greenlightlady

    February 24, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    “And the greatest way to wage a war against grime is on our knees.” I could not agree with you more, Charity. What an adorable little girl you have been blessed with. Please give her an extra hug. I know that my daughter can never have too many. Hugs for the mom too.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

     
    • Charity

      February 27, 2014 at 5:48 pm

      Hugs delivered and received! Thank you Wendy! Always a joy to hear from you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
