RSS

No Sweeter Word {A Word of Encouragement}

13 Nov

I can remember one night, at the end of a long day, when I felt like a failure of a mother. I was so incredibly disappointed in myself and I desperately needed encouragement, but I didn’t just want any encouraging word. I desperately needed to hear from God. I needed a personal word just from him, not from a blog, not from a book, not from a post on Facebook. Ever feel like that?

I prayed and asked him to show me what he thought of me and my day. I then flipped open my Bible and the first verse I saw was this:

Romans 3:23
“All have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”

All have sinned.

All come short.

I felt his love hit me like a tidal wave and I could feel him whispering to my soul,

“All have sinned. No one is perfect.”

And it was in that moment that I realized, that he is not looking for a happy face all day long. He is not looking for a home or a heart that is spotless. He is looking for eyes that continue to lift up to him, a home with open doors and a heart that clings to his.

He sees me through Jesus and therefore, what he sees is perfect and good.

Maybe today was a rough day for you. Maybe you feel like a failure.

I want to urge you to draw near to God. Pray and ask him to speak directly to you through his word.

There is no word as sweet as his.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “No Sweeter Word {A Word of Encouragement}

  1. Sis

    November 13, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    “He is not looking for a happy face all day”
    I forget that one..

     

Leave a Reply

 
