RSS

Your Kingdom Come, Your will be done

29 Oct

There is a certain prayer that has been heavy on my mind lately, perhaps because Halloween is right around the corner.

It is probably one of the most prayed prayers I have heard, as it is part of the ever-popular “Our Father” prayer.

The specific words that have been heavy on my heart in this prayer are these:

“Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”
(Matthew 6:10)

His will- on earth- as it is- in heaven.

Clearly, our world is far from heaven.

And as I consider this prayer, my heart gets heavy.

“Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

What would that look like?

What am I doing here that I cannot imagine I would be doing there?

What could I be doing here that I can imagine would shine glimpses of life there?

That is what I have been asking myself lately.

And I pray that those who I love will really consider that with me.

Let us consider, “Is this truly your will, Lord?”

And let us pray and walk out this prayer:

“Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

May heaven touch earth as we do.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
