RSS

Noise

10 Oct

Noise.

I am surrounded, flooded, crashed, and encompassed by noise.

And it is not that I don’t love my children.

And it is not that I don’t love my friends.

But all I see and all I hear, all day long, is noise.

And I am tired.

I am tired of trying to hear and be heard above the noise.

And I wonder,

Are you God?

Are you tired?

Are you tired of trying to be heard above the noise?

And as much as I love you, and want to share your hope, your peace, your love, and your joy…

I don’t want to add to the noise.

I don’t want to be yet another post,

Yet another voice,

That pulls thirsty hearts away from yours.

Because your words are the words that bring love.

And your words are the words that bring hope.

Yours are the words that bring true peace.

And I,

I

Need

Your

Words.

So tonight I have put the kids to bed early.

And I am putting down this phone,

That I so often pick up to read,

And write.

So that I can hear YOU.

Because I,

I

Need

To

Hear

YOU.

And I need to hear you loud and clear tonight.

So I am not asking you to speak louder.

I am telling myself to be quieter.

I am telling myself to block out the noise.

And rest, simply rest in your presence.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
