RSS

Such as These

13 Jun

20130613-134012.jpg

“Super Nana!!” Our five year-old shouts with a smile, as he runs through our kitchen, with his little bear, wonderfully fitted with a custom made, folder paper and masking tape, super hero cape.

I watch him and cannot help but smile, because there is something inside of me that yearns,

To dream like that.

To see things not for what they are,
But for what they could be.

I remember the words of Jesus, “The Kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.”

Such as these…

These that dream.

These that believe.

These that spell words based on what they sound like,

And read people by what they act like.

These that trust.

These that do not allow their world to be defined and limited by what others say it is.

These that define their world by what they can make it.

These that live,

And laugh.

These that make the most of what is around them and run free.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Such as These

  1. Samantha Richardson

    June 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    I needed this today. I’m guilty, oftentimes, of not embracing the moment (through all the chaos). Today my 5 & 3 year olds wanted to play hide & seek; but I was doing chores. Then an hour later, my 23 month old lay crying in his bed at nap time b/c he wanted to be rocked; but, again, I was doing more chores. When will I learn to stop & smell the roses before they wither away? Thank you for your reminders and encouragement!

     
    • Charity

      June 14, 2013 at 6:47 am

      You are most welcome. It is not easy to smell the roses in the midst of the chaos. It is not easy to balance all the cleaning and housework with the work of connecting with our kids, teaching them, disciplining them, and playing. I cannot say that I have mastered it- not by far. But I have made a conscious choice to seize the moments when I see them. And I don’t always see them. Many times, I too, get wrapped up in the cleaning and in the chaos. But when I can clearly see the roses- I make it a point to seize them- because you are right- they will wither away. I am praying for you, for me, and for any mama that may read this- that our eyes will be opened to see the roses today and that we will have the sense to seize them. Praying that we can clearly see what matters most.

      Many blessings to you. Should you ever need another mama to talk to in the midst of the chaos- know I am only a comment away :).

      – Charity

      PS- Take heart knowing this- when one rose withers, another blooms. His mercies are new every morning.

       
      • Samantha Richardson

        June 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

        Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement and for your prayers. I need them more often than I realize! I am praying for you, as well.. Have a blessed day!

         

Leave a Reply

 
