RSS

When the Weight Seems too Heavy

12 Jun

“Mama?” Our five year-old begins. “Are you stronger than daddy?”

I answer, “No. Daddy is stronger.”

He continues, “But can you lift daddy and all of us?”

I answer, “No. That would be too heavy for me.”

He then says something that challenges my response, “But what if you were in a pool with water? Could you lift all of us up in water?”

I consider his question and answer, “Yes, I probably could.”

And the thoughts begin…

Sometimes the weight of being a wife and momma can feel so heavy. So many needs placed upon your shoulders. It can seem impossible to meet them all and striving to “meet the needs” quickly becomes exausting.

What if I stop striving to “meet the needs”? What if I stop focusing on the weight. What if I, instead, start focusing on enjoying those who are “in the pool” with me and remember that God is “in the pool” with us? He is with us, lightening our load, bringing comfort and joy.

He is the “living water.” Nothing is impossible with Him. I am weak but he is strong and he is with me. That is what matters most.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “When the Weight Seems too Heavy

  1. mejung24

    June 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Romans 8: 6 For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.
    May God lift you up and give you peace.

     
    • Charity

      June 12, 2013 at 12:43 pm

      Thank you so much for sharing that verse. What perfect wisdom from our Heavenly Father. Amen!

       
  2. Janey Hudak

    June 12, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    “Living Water” indeed. Jump on in, the waters fine!

     

Leave a Reply

 
