RSS

When You Come Apart

07 Jun

20130607-101300.jpg

I placed these tulips out last night. When I did, not one petal had fallen. The sight of them so perfectly placed, made my heart feel a moment of calm, in a house that can often feel like a storm.

This morning, while I and the older children worked in the yard, our two year-old daughter made her way to the tulips, and began ripping the petals off. My older children alerted me to the scene.

As I looked at the flowers, our five year-old son, who could tell I was upset, said to me, “They are still beautiful… With all the petals apart like that.” They were, though I could not see it at first.

What I could see was that the petals, being ripped apart, exposed what was inside the flowers. Furthermore, the petals, being ripped apart, exposed what was inside of ME. How sad, that a two year-old making a tulip come apart, nearly caused me to come apart.

I felt awful and ugly, but then it was as if Jesus whispered my son’s words back to me, with a little twist, and I want to share those words with you, because perhaps, you need to hear them too.

“YOU are still beautiful, even when you come apart.”

I want to say that to you again. You are still beautiful, even when you come apart.

Take heart in that today. Know that, the way you see yourself when you come apart matters, but the way Jesus sees you when you come apart matters most.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “When You Come Apart

    • Charity

      June 9, 2013 at 6:30 am

      Thank you so much, Sam. This greatly blessed me.

       
  1. gravitaslumen

    June 7, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    amen.

     
  2. kristic90

    June 7, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    This is a beautiful message. Children sometimes teach the biggest lessons. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

     
    • Charity

      June 9, 2013 at 6:32 am

      You are most welcome. And yes, they absolutely do. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
