RSS

My “Fake” Facebook Life

06 Apr

I’ve been scrolling through the pictures on my phone and thinking about how some people complain that social media depicts a “fake” perception of our lives. We post on Facebook our “perfect” pictures but we rarely, if ever, post pictures of our messy house, or crying kids, or snap shots of our emotional outbursts.

But you know, I rarely, if ever, take pictures of those moments. Why would I want to do that? Why would I want to focus on our imperfections and our mistakes? Why would I want others to?

When I look back on my life I don’t want to focus on the moments when my house was messy or the moments of temper tantrums (both mine and our children’s). I do share snap shots of our mess-ups and imperfections, but I do not share every mistake. I don’t want to remember every mistake. I don’t want that to be my focus, because that is not what matters most. I want to focus on the moments filled with laughter and love. I want to remember my loved ones at their best and I want to remember myself at my best. Don’t you?

And you know, THAT is the beauty of grace. That is what it looks like to take an imperfect life but focus in on the moments of perfection. That is what God does for us through Jesus Christ when we come to him and ask him to delete the imperfect snap shots and words in our lives.

20130412-101440.jpg
Like a mother crafting her child’s baby book, filling it with “firsts” and sweet pictures of her child, He crafts His book of our life and each page is filled with pictures that are pulled by fingers that are drenched by grace. One or two shots of the crying face, the furled lip, the grouchy pout, the incredibly wide spread mess that was catapulted across the kitchen and bedroom floors, simply to remember that, yes, they were there. Hundreds upon hundreds of silly grins and tender touches, wondrous “firsts” that make our Father proud. That is the focus, and every shot, even the messes, cries and pouts are treasured and beautiful to our Father.

Why can we not do that for each other? Why can we not craft our lives and view others’ as He does? It is not fake. It is grace.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “My “Fake” Facebook Life

  1. Sam McManus

    April 6, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    I think that we all have things we want others to think about us, because we want to believe those things about ourselves. If you believe it enough, it will make it true.

     
    • Charity

      April 6, 2013 at 11:49 pm

      That is an interesting thought. It reminds me of a saying I once heard, “I think, therefore I am.” I am not entirely sure that I understand it though. It seems to me that if what you think or believe is false, you deceive yourself.

      I would hope my friends and readers (including you) understand that I do not omit from sharing every mistake I make in an effort to deceive them and myself into believing I don’t make many mistakes. I do. We all do. It goes without saying.

      What I was hoping to communicate, though perhaps I did not do so very well, was simply that I don’t choose to focus or highlight the negative, my mistakes, or the mistakes of others. I choose to highlight forgiveness, love, joy and grace. I believe I am loved and forgiven by Jesus Christ and that he extended me grace. I may be deceived, but even if so, that belief compels me to extend that same love, forgiveness and grace to others. I would not want to live life any other way.

      Thank you for your comment. You continue to encourage, provoke and challenge me with your feedback. I greatly value your thoughts because I believe that you are also greatly loved by Jesus.

       
      • Sam McManus

        April 7, 2013 at 12:36 pm

        I completely understand what you mean, and I think we should all choose to highlight things other than mistakes we make, or that other people make. Too many people are waiting to “get” other people, to catch them making a mistake, to judge them, and it is not our jobs to judge others, or even to judge ourselves. If we make honest mistakes and do what we can to correct them, that’s all that is expected of us. I enjoy being one of your readers because you always give such great feedback to us too, and we can have give and take. Not so on many other blogs.

         
      • Charity

        April 8, 2013 at 10:50 am

        Loved this! Especially the part about “Too many people are waiting to ‘get’ other people, to catch them making a mistake…” Sad but true.

        Thank you so much for adding your insight and thank you for your comment about this blog. Most appreciated!

         
      • Sam McManus

        April 8, 2013 at 12:32 pm

        You’re very welcome!

         

Leave a Reply

 
