RSS

This is Our Life

23 Feb

ImageSometimes on Saturday mornings I wake up and imagine those billboards- you know the ones you see when traveling along the interstate for an upcoming hotel. The ones with a happy couple cuddling on an all white bed with fluffy white pillows, their feet sticking out from under an all white sheet.

But then I hear the sound of our bedroom door slam open. Two little girls with loud voices. They are hungry. They need to go to the bathroom. They don’t want to lay down and cuddle.

Their loud voices wake their older brothers who, one by one, come in, fighting for their spot on a king size bed that suddenly feels like it is the size of a crib mattress.
Sisters now feel the need to defend the spot they forfeited to instead play with the light switch at the other end of the room.
Baby wakes and is hungry and rooting. Now they all fight over who can get the closest spot to baby.
Sisters cry, brothers tease, and in the midst of it all I feel my husband’s feet rubbing mine under the sheets…
And my mind drifts back to that billboard- to that happy couple in their all white bed- and I smile.
Peace floods the room. There is calm in the madness and an overwhelming sense of joy because this is our life.
It is not all white and fluffy. It is messy and loud, and down right crazy at times, but it is beautiful none the less and blessed beyond measure.
Embrace your life today and all its colors. For though it may be messy, loud, and down right crazy at times, it is beautiful and blessed beyond measure and that is what matters most.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “This is Our Life

  1. Sam McManus

    February 23, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Real life is so much better than fairy tale. And yes, I know that some families are as you described and some are actually like the photograph. I just don’t know any families that are like the photograph, but I’m not judging. I’m also not being jealous though. I love the nuance of life lived spontaneously, and of creatively interesting children.

     
    • Charity

      February 23, 2013 at 9:57 pm

      I really enjoyed your comment :).

      On rare occasions (special vacations) my hubby and I have been the couple in the photograph- but it is by far not our usual morning. And you know- I think for that reason- it makes those mornings all the more special.

      I suppose it is all about learning to love where you are at… learning to roll with the tide, enjoy the stillness and ride the waves. Spontaneous, creative and interesting indeed!

       
      • Sam McManus

        February 24, 2013 at 12:47 pm

        Too many people think the grass is greener and don’t appreciate what they have. Picture perfect is never perfect, except when it’s organically yours.

         
      • Charity

        February 24, 2013 at 1:31 pm

        Amen 🙂

        Sent from my iPhone

         

Leave a Reply

