RSS

Better Safe than Sorry?

02 Feb

I recently heard that old, classic cliche of “Better safe than sorry.” I have been thinking about it for some time now.

“Better safe than sorry” is not always true. I cannot tell you how many times my husband and I have heard from older couples how they wish they would have had more children. Why didn’t they? Because they played it “safe.” For this same reason, my husband and I have known many young couples, deeply in love and committed to each other, but waiting for a “safer” time to get married.

Yes, we should use wisdom and consider our circumstances, but when we allow our circumstances to prevent us from following the plan that the Lord has placed in our heart, we are not better off at all. We are perfectly positioning ourself in a safe little bubble, where the glorious and unimaginable will never be seen.

I thank God that my husband and I got married when we did. I was only nineteen years old. I thank God that we were blessed with our first son when I was only 20 and have continued to have children as we have felt led. I cannot imagine my life without any of them and I anxiously await to see the glorious, unimaginable, face of our sixth child.

Not every person is meant to get married young, or have six children. God has a unique plan for us all. What matters most is that we follow God’s plan. We pray and obey. We don’t “play it safe.” We play by faith.

It is not always easy. Sometimes it is down-right painful. But I can honestly say that in the end, I have never been sorry for the steps I have taken walking in faith. Those are the steps, that when I look back at my life, have mattered most.

Tired of playing it safe? Try playing by faith. You will not be sorry that you did.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Better Safe than Sorry?

  1. Sam McManus

    February 2, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    I completely agree with this, and I thank you for sharing it. Too often people fall for the cliche lines because they’re cliche, but they’re not always true. Not even most of the time true, even though they’re cliches. Faith is so important, especially in the world we live in. Who knows when the end will come for us or for anyone else, but it’s important that we do what we feel god wants us to do, whenever that happens to be. Then we’ll be truly safe, the only way we can be safe. And never sorry.

     
    • Charity

      February 8, 2013 at 9:56 am

      So well said. Thank you.

       
      • Sam McManus

        February 8, 2013 at 10:03 am

        You’re welcome!

         

Leave a Reply

 
