RSS

Your Clean is NOT My Clean

29 Dec

I did a lot of cleaning today, much more than usual. Over and above our normal cleaning, I also cleaned the garage, some “junk drawers,” undecorated some of our Christmas decorations and even cleaned out our boys’ turtle tank (though not by choice -per say- but more so out of necessity, as our seven year-old dumped way too much food in the tank and leaving it “as is” would certainly have caused major problems for their turtles.)

There is something about cleaning that makes you feel like you are getting your life more in order. That is, until the Lord whispers to your heart, “Your clean is NOT my clean.”

I have said those very words to my boys many times upon checking their bedroom, but today, our Father issued those words back at me in the midst of my cleaning, “Your clean is NOT my clean.”

Suddenly, all my wonderfully ordered drawers and clean spaces seemed insignificant, as I felt the gaze of the Father on my heart.

My heart and mind have not been clean lately. They have been cluttered with a mix of emotions and thoughts, many that desperately need pitched out. I could not even tell you where they came from. They remind me of the many items that have been dropped in my garage over the past months and the countless objects jumbled in our “junk drawer.”

Like my boys, I am not able to clean out my heart and mind like my Father can.  I need Him to show me exactly what I am “swimming in.” I need Him to show me what is good and worth keeping, what is in my heart that is meant to be given to someone else, and what needs to be thrown away.

Tonight this is my prayer:

Psalm 51:10
“Create in me a clean heart, O God,and renew a right spirit within me.”

I know He will be faithful to help me do some real cleaning. May His clean be my clean.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Your Clean is NOT My Clean

  1. africanstardust

    December 29, 2012 at 2:46 am

    I prayed this same verse in the early hours of this morning, and then I came and read this blog. Thanks for sharing and may He come and restore your heart and spirit 🙂

     
    • Charity

      December 30, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you so much.

       
  2. bface2face

    January 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm

    So insightful! I too love to clean. Its probably my need to control something.. Even if its just the fold of a towel or sparkle on the kitchen faucet! Isn’t the LORD awesome? Even in our rush to feel in control- He sets His foot down and shows us a better way- because He passionately loves us❤
    I look forward to catching up on your blog posts and getting to know you. Blessings!

     
    • Charity

      January 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm

      Amen 🙂 I am really glad the Lord had our paths cross!

       

Leave a Reply

 
