RSS

Peed Pants Again

15 Aug

Image from Sprouts En Route

 

Our three year-old daughter continues to pee her pants. She knows full well where she needs to go but instead she chooses to stand her ground and walk around in her stench. Part of me thinks she does it for attention. She wants me to cheer her on in the bathroom, hold her hand, and sing her praises for the good she has done. (All of which I have done.) The other part attributes it to laziness and distractions.

At times I fight feelings of frustration and anger at her failure to achieve the success I know she is capable of achieving. Other times I know she has tried her best and simply missed. I look at her and I see myself. Still I cannot help but wonder, Is her failure my fault? Have I not given her enough attention?

Have you been there with your children? Have you blamed yourself for their failure? It is hard not to blame yourself when your children fail in some area.

In the end, I know my daughter needs to learn to go to the bathroom by herself. It is the first of many tasks she will have to do by herself, tasks that will seem thankless and receive no praise from men- but God will see them and praise her for the good she has done. Trying to teach her that at her young age is not the easiest, and as I try, the Lord is teaching me the lessons that matter most.

Even in her mess, I love her. I love her just where she is at at, and in my heart, I feel God whisper, “This is how I love you.” I hope and pray for for her success. I try to speak words of correction and encouragement just as the Lord corrects and encourages me in my messes. I trust God to get us through this mess and thank him for another lesson on what matters most.

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Peed Pants Again

  1. Holly Michael

    August 23, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Glad to came to my blog, Charity, so that I could find yours. Very nice. This post reminded me about the potty training days with my own. They seemed so hard, back then, but now I look back and cherish those days with my children when they were young. Have a blessed day!

     
    • Charity

      August 23, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Thank you, Holly! I just recently came across your blog and really enjoy your writing.

       
  2. Kristin

    August 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    The Lord definitely uses our children to teach us lessons!! And potty training is totally one of those teachable moments. I’m sure I will learn even more lessons when I potty train our third child in approximately 2 and a half years 🙂

     
    • Charity

      August 28, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      I am so excited our paths crossed! It seems we have much in common! I am expecting our 6th child in nine years! (We haven’t “officially” announced that but I wanted to share that with you). There is overwhelming chaos and joy throughout any given day. I can assure you that you will survive and you will be blessed with many, many lessons through your precious children.

      How do I go about following your blog?

       
      • Kristin

        September 3, 2012 at 5:30 pm

        You can go to any individual post and click on “Subscribe via RSS” under the comment box 🙂 or you can sign up via email on the sidebar on the right.

        Congrats on your new bun in the oven 🙂 God bless you!!

         
      • Charity

        September 3, 2012 at 5:32 pm

        Thank you! You too!

         
  3. greenlightlady

    August 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    What a cute photo! It looked mighty familiar to me… but now my little ones are teens. It’s the kitchen counter that takes a beating now. This is good. I want my kids to eat and make their own snacks. I was not good at toilet training my kids. We survived and during the worst of it I would remind myself that they will be trained before they start driving. This silly thought would make me smile! I love your honesty & heart for God. ~ Wendy

     
    • Charity

      August 28, 2012 at 4:51 pm

      Thank you, Wendy! Your comments always put a smile on my face. Kitchen counters are a messy place jn our house too! Learning is a messy thing.

       

Leave a Reply

 
