RSS

Capture the Moment

08 Aug

Yesterday I lost all the pictures and videos that I had stored on my phone. Just like that, four months of precious moments gone. It brought me to tears. Even more as I thought about it into the evening.

That is how life is. So many moments and in an instant they are gone. No one remembers the song they sang when they were three or the way their dad threw them into the air under a tree to catch them in his arms, over and over and over again, at the tender age of one. I wanted to hold on to those moments in the only way I knew how.

One-thousand and thirteen moments gone in a second. Thousands are gone every day. You want to press pause and hold each moment for just a moment longer but you can’t.

I have told myself that I am taking the pictures for our kids but I know that is not the truth. Truly, they will grow older and chances are- like me- have very few pictures of their childhood. I have thousands of pictures stored on disks and on computers, some that no longer run. I wish I could print them all and place them in boxes that would keep forever, mark each child’s name on them and file each picture by date.

Even then I could not hold on to time. I can’t keep the ones I love in a box. I can’t keep them in my home. I can’t keep them in this world.

They will eventually be gone. We all will. All we can do is try our best to capture every moment, to zoom in closer to the hearts of those we love and focus on the beauty of every moment, whether it be light or dark. For every moment is but a stroke of color, filling the canvas of our life. Strive to capture each moment and take in every color for its glorious worth. We cannot see the big picture on that canvas of our life, but we are given the blessed opportunity to lean in and see in great detail the moments that matter most.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Capture the Moment

  1. rslavoie

    August 8, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Ugh! That’s happened to me too and it’s so heartbreaking. Losing those pictures is like losing the memory, at least every detail of it. I’ve come to realize though that even when I lose memories or forget about them, they have still left an imprint on my heart and very much contribute to who I am.

    I don’t remember what my mom wore when she rocked me to sleep for so many nights, but I have a vague recollection of the warmth in her arms and the sweet motion that coaxed me into a secure and peaceful sleep. I don’t remember how many times my dad spun me around like an airplane but I remember feeling his rough hands place a band aid on my skinned knees and elbows with such care and compassion. Now when I hold his hands, the little girl tucked in my memories smiles as she remembers how much fun she had in those strong and able hands.

    It really stinks when we lose memories, those captured moments. But be encouraged to know that they never actually leave us. God is so gracious to call to mind hints and smells and sounds that bring us back to a place of summer nights and winter mornings. Vacations and snow days. A place where we are reminded, yet again, that He is so faithful to have brought us where we are.

    Sometimes a memory is so much sweeter when it has been brought to mind after years of hiding secure in our yesterdays. I hope your kiddos feel that too, and that you’re able to see them re-live it before your very eyes. Maybe even with some details no camera would have ever captured. 🙂

     
    • Charity

      August 8, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Thank you so much for your words. They really touched my heart and my eyes. (Wiping tears over here.) Thanks for the hug. 🙂

       
      • rslavoie

        August 8, 2012 at 8:51 am

        Girl. Anytime 🙂

         
  2. Kristin

    August 8, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This post inspired my morning…I woke today as unemployed as I have been all year…What is different about today you ask? I interviewed for three different teaching jobs and if I had gotten even one …today would have been my first day at work. Instead I am at home with my kids as they run about making a mess and just being them. So after reading your post about the demise of your pictures, I thought hmmm…today is still a good day, a day the Lord has made, a day to share with my family, to make memories. So…for today that is certainly enough! Thanks Charity!

     
    • Charity

      August 8, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Amen, Kristin! Your post inspired me this morning too- so much so that I shared it on my other blog (www.blurbsofgrace.wordpress.com). I love your words… “Somehow this is enough.” I thought long about those words and realized, “Yes, it is.”

      Enjoy today.

       

Leave a Reply

 
