RSS

“Go tell her I love her.” My personal testimony that it is possible to hear the voice of the Lord.

10 Jul

Some people say that people who claim that God told them something are making false claims. I wanted to share today to encourage any one who may read this that God still speaks to us on a personal level. It is possible to hear his voice. And yes, often it sounds much like your own thoughts. But no, it is not “just you.” here is how I know:

When I first became a believer I remember praying and asking God to use me. I told him that whatever he wanted me to do I would do it. Weeks later I was walking on a trail near my mother’s apartment for exercise. (Funny to think of the irony in even calling it that because it was during this that God really exercised my faith- much to my failure). I noticed a girl who looked to be about college age walking toward me. At that moment I heard the Lord say to me, “Go tell her I love her.” Even though I had heard Him very clearly I began to doubt thinking, “No, that’s just me. It’s just my thought. That is too simple, too awkward.” This went back and forth. I would hear “Go tell her I love her.” Then would counter, “It’s just me.” She ended up walking past me and I never told her that God loved her. It bothered me for years following. I can’t remember when but at some point as I reconsidered the situation I felt horrible. I prayed and told the Lord I was sorry for my lack of faith. I told him that should he ask again I would say what he wanted me to say. Our God is a God of second chances.

Years had passed since I passed that girl on that trail. I was a mother now, living in an entirely different state. I was driving down the interstate with our young boys. We were headed to Big Lots. I usually don’t shop there as it is a bit out of our way and I cannot remember what I had even thought I was going for. As I drove I noticed a woman who was walking along the side of the road that paralleled the interstate. I don’t know what it was about her but something in me felt draw to just notice her. She was a white, middle aged woman, She looked like she was possibly going through a rough time and she was walking near the interstate. I kept driving.

We ended up in Big Lots. I spent sometime shopping. As I passed the pillows I turned and there she was, the very woman I noticed on the side of the interstate. Then I heard the Lord tell me once again, “Go tell her that I love her.” I remembered what I had prayed and I felt sick to my stomach. I thought, “Surely, it is just me again.” (Quite the testimony of increasing faith, I know.) I heard the Lord again, “Go tell her that I love her.” I just couldn’t. Finally, I told the Lord, “Lord, I don’t know if this is you. If it is put her behind me when I go to checkout. Then I will know it is you.” I then avoided her in every aisle and tried very hard to checkout when she was out of sight. I looked around. I hurried to the checkout. I stood waiting with my boys. She walked up with her cart behind me.

Stomach turning, I knew there was no denying the answer to my prayer. I wrestled with what to say. Finally, I spoke out. I told her, “I usually don’t do things like this but I cannot help but feel that the Lord really wants me to tell you that He loves you.” (It was done).

Tears filled her eyes. She looked at me and said, “You are the second person this week to tell me that.” Two days ago as I sat at the bus stop a little girl handed my a flower and said ‘God told me to tell you that He loves you.”

At this point, we both knew that, without a doubt, God was real. She knew He loved her and I knew that I was indeed hearing His voice. I ended up driving her back to the hotel she was staying at and praying with her. I never saw her again.

My faith was built up incredibly that day and so was the faith of our young sons who watched the entire thing. I still stand in awe at the awesome things the Lord orchestrates through those who believe. When you doubt your ability to hear God’s voice, I pray that this will strengthen your faith. Step out and speak what He places on your heart to speak. Do what He places on your heart to do. Share the love that matters most.

A woman who heard God’s voice and followed His lead, forever changed my life. Read the testimony of how my husband and I became followers of Jesus Christ in my post Catch Me on Blurbs of Grace.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to ““Go tell her I love her.” My personal testimony that it is possible to hear the voice of the Lord.

  1. luluberoo

    July 14, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    What a beautiful story. Years ago, my son was on the streets with a terrible addiction. When he finally got so low and so hungry and so cold he was ready to seek help,he found and checked himself into a rehab. (I won’t go into the years of anguish and effort on my part to help him that preceded this time). When I was able to talk to him I told him “I love you unconditionally, and God loves you unconditionally, and there is nothing you can do about it.”

    Your “about” story above reminded me of that conversation.

     
    • Charity

      July 17, 2012 at 10:30 am

      Thank you for sharing your equally beautiful story. Our children are young right now and I can only imagine what it is like to go through what you have gone through with your son. I am so impressed at the choice you made to reflect God’s love to your son in the midst of the messes.

      I pray that the stage you mentioned with your son has passed but if it has not I pray that you will be filled with peace. God loves you unconditionally- even in the midst of what feels like failure, He loves you. You have reflected the love of God to your child in the midst of the messes and in the end, that is what matters most.

      God bless you and thank you for inspiring my next “What Matters Most” article. I have a feeling that many parents need reminded of God’s love in the messes. May you and your son be filled with joy and strength.

       
  2. The 1 Saved By Grace

    July 17, 2012 at 12:50 am

    I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger’s Award. You can accept it by going here..

     http://the1savedbygrace.com/2012/07/17/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/

     
    • Charity

      July 17, 2012 at 10:45 am

      Thank you so much! I am so excited and also humbled by your nomination. I so enjoyed learning more about you- I love what you shared and I am also really excited to check out the blogs you have mentioned in your post. Finding sisters in Christ that build your faith and bring comfort to your heart is more than a blessing, it is air when you are out of breath. I have never been nominated or accepted an award- can you please explain more on how to accept. Thanks again. -Charity

       
  3. Daniel Undem

    July 20, 2012 at 8:37 am

    I love the honesty with which this is written. Well Done.

     
  4. Arlene

    July 21, 2012 at 5:28 am

    Hi Charity: I think you are deserving of “The Versatile Blogger” award. If you’d like to accept it, please stop by http://armouredup.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/versatile-blogger-award/ for the details. Blessings…

     
    • Charity

      July 21, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      Thank you Arlene! I will be sure to check it out.

       

Leave a Reply

 
