RSS

Learning to Shave

02 Jul

20120710-074102.jpg

A few weeks ago our three year-old daughter attempted to “wash her nostache” (shave her mustache) like her daddy. She of course ended up cutting her lip. A year or so ago when my precious father-in-law stayed with us, he also left a razor in reach of little hands and our son who was five at the time attempted to shave like grandpa. He also cut his lip.

I can remember being a young girl and doing the same thing, reaching high to grab ahold of something that was supposed to be out of my reach and attempting to shave my legs like my mother. I was shocked when pain and blood flowed from my hairy shin. Why didn’t that happen to my mother? I am sure I would have done much better had I asked her to teach me how to do it.

When I was in school the cool thing for boys was having lines shaved into the side of your eyebrows. My younger brother ended up shaving off half his eyebrow trying to imitate the boys he saw. As I look back I feel awful for how badly we teased him. (If you read this Rob- sorry.)

Sometimes we want so badly to imitate what someone who we admire is doing. We try to do just what they are doing and end up failing. The failure can cause pain and unfortunately, the harsh ridicule of others adds insult to injury.

If you have been striving to accomplish a goal and failing, you may want to consider, is this really what I am supposed to be doing? Pray on it. Ask the Lord to confirm and teach you how to accomplish the goal you are desiring. He will if your vision is also His vision for you. He may tell you “It’s not time yet,” in essence, “your not old enough yet” but the time will come. He may open your eyes to the fact that what you are attempting to “look like” is not the way you need to. He may just take you in His arms, hold you and say “Stop trying to look like them. Look like you. You are not meant to be just like them. You are meant to be just like you.” As you reach for your dreams, consider these things. Allow God to really be your Father and ask Him about that goal that is out of reach. Listen and follow his instruction. He will reveal to you what matters most.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Learning to Shave

  1. Daniel Undem

    July 10, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Thank you for writing this. I needed to hear it today. God Bless.

     
    • Charity

      July 10, 2012 at 8:04 am

      You are most welcome. So did I :).

       
  2. Mack

    July 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Very true. Beautiful words!

     

Leave a Reply

 
