RSS

Everything is Not Meaningless

11 Jun

I woke up early this morning, determined to wage a war against all my laundry that needs to be folded. On my way through our living room I noticed that the Bible that sits out and open, and on display had been moved. Curious, I took it in my hands, and by the dim light of my cell phone, I found myself reading the book of Ecclesiastes. It begins by Solomon proclaiming, “Meaningless! Meaningless! Utterly Meaningless! Everything is Meaningless!” Twelve chapters of Solomon searching for meaning follow.

Isn’t that what we all are doing, searching for meaning? It is only when we reach the place of disgust with the mundane that we can begin to find it. Wisdom begins when our hearts cry out, “Meaningless!”

This has been my prayer for some time now, “Father, make it meaningful. Show me what I am not seeing. Teach me great lessons from what seems insignificant. Show me the extraordinary in the ordinary. Help me to see that not one moment is meaningless, but that the meaning of all things can be found in you. Help me to see you. Help me to hear you. May I learn the lessons you are trying to teach me. May I be faithful in the small matters of life, because I know that truly, not one matter is small, but divinely placed in my life by you. Help me to see that everything is not meaningless. Everything matters. And you, my God, matter most.”

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Everything is Not Meaningless

  1. Bubba Janey

    May 18, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Your Great Aunt Becky, whom I like to call Queen Elizabeth, since she lives in a household of men, states, “My handmaids help me with the laundry.” Doing laundry seems meaningless. You sort, wash, dry, fold, sort again to put away. For what? For it all ends up back in the dirty pile within days! One summer as a tennager my dad in all his wisdom assigned chores. Mine was laundry. Please understand doing the laundry for a large family at the time about 8 of us, was a real chore. I thought, in the least, it’s not dishes or bathrooms. I took doing the laundry very seriously that summmer. I sorted, I washed, I hung the clothes to dry. I folded, I sorted, I ironed stacks of cotton shirts and dresses (big Catholic families dressed in their Sunday Best for mass). I stayed outside sunbathing in my green striped bikini and enjoyed cool mornings and long lazy afternoons in my own backyard. I learned that doing laundry was relaxing and the members of my family looked to me for their basic comforts. Yes, comfort. Clean clothes and bed linens are comforts. What I thought might be a boring horrible chore turned itself into a life lesson. Another tip Aunt Becky gave me was make each action a prayer. Fold lots of love into those clothes. It’s not meaningless. It’s meaningful, deeply rooted in Jesus’s instruction, “Love one another.” Even to this day the washing machine’s swish, swish, swish, and whirling (I know yours screams!) is a reminder to me that Jesus washes away our sins. And, He just keeps on doing it. No matter how many times we pile them up! Love you, Mommy

     
    • Charity

      May 18, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Amen! Love you mom.

       

Leave a Reply

 
