RSS

Making Corrections

05 Jul

My five-year old son is learning to write cursive. He, like most children, desires to write letters and words. He often tries to write them on his own on random pieces of paper. Many times, I sit next to him and try to talk him through the formation of his letters with a gentle voice. “Start at the red dot. Backwards loop up. Keep your car on the road…” (We pretend his pencil is a car that needs to stay on the road when he is tracing his letters.) He smiles and traces along until he reaches a red dot with no letter to trace. As usual, his smile drops at the daunting task.

I try to reassure him that he can do it. “Just write it like you wrote it before. Start on the dot. Backwards loop up.” He makes a forward loop. “No, a backwards loop like an airplane.” He puts his head in his hands and huffs in frustration. He takes his eraser and tries to erase his mistake, still there is a faint line of his original error. “Okay, lets start again. Start on the dot. Backwards loop up.” He proceeds to trace over the faint line of the letter he wrote incorrectly. I find myself telling him, “Don’t trace over your mistakes.” His frustration mounds. As I watch him, I wonder what mistakes I may be tracing over.

I too have goals that I want to accomplish. When I fail at those goals and attempt to start over on my own I end up tracing over the same mistakes. Thank God for Jesus Christ, the eraser of my sins who removes my sins without a trace and draws a new line for me to follow to success through His word.

When you fail, resist the urge to get frustrated. Accept correction. See the mistake for what it is. Grab hold of an eraser. Erase the mistake and try again. Keep trying and receiving correction because that is what matters most. Pretty soon you will be doing those backwards loops with no problem at all.

My son, despise not the chastening of the LORD; neither be weary of his correction: For whom the LORD loveth he correcteth; even as a father the son in whom he delighteth. – Proverbs 3:11-12


 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
