RSS

Pray and Chick-Fil-A

30 May

The baby is screaming and her diaper needs changed again. My two year-old daughter is grabbing my hand, trying to pull me toward the kitchen because she is hungry. My three-year old son is calling for me from the bathroom for help. My five-year old son is pleading to ride his bike outside. My seven-year old son is asking for help with his school work. My laundry is piling up and so are the dishes. I have no idea what I am making for dinner. Every cry and call sounds louder. Every small pull feels stronger. Suddenly I feel like a sweater being unraveled by many threads at once. One scripture keeps coming to mind:

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you
can endure it.” (
1 Corinthians 10:13 NIV)

Sometimes, I think the greatest temptation I have is simply the temptation to give up. My three-year old son likes to run and hide in his room when he is faced with circumstances he does not like. I am tempted to do the same, but I cannot. I suppose that theoretically I could, but where would that leave my children?

Like a worn out defensive end on a football field, I stand. And with my husband out of town there is no substitute for my position. There is no “way out.” Or is there? What if the goal changes? What if it is not necessary to turn every play into a touchdown? What if the goal is simply to stay in the game?

I fall on my knees and pray. I change my dinner plans to Chick-fil-A. I know that must sound ridiculous but sometimes the “way out” is by admitting that I just cannot do it all. I do what I can do. I leave undone what I cannot. I take the “way out” and thank God that we have enough money in our bank account, a van with gas in the driveway, and a Chick-Fil-A drive thru serving better food than I could make in the amount of time I have to make it. My kids were super excited at the unexpected change in our dinner menu and routine.

Tomorrow I can plan for a home cooked dinner. I know that serving home cooked meals matters. As for tonight I am happy to still be in the game and that is what matters most.


 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
