RSS

My God Move It!

11 Jan

One day our boys wanted to go outside and jump on our trampoline. The weather was looking awful as dark, thick clouds were billowing above. I told them they would not be able to jump because of the weather.  Our six-year-old looked at me and asked, “Well can’t we just pray that the storm will go away?”  I realized how small my faith was when he asked.

Indeed, my faith was small. Nonetheless, I remembered how Jesus said if we had faith as small as a mustard seed we could tell a mountain to be moved and it would move.  He said nothing was impossible with faith.

So I said one small prayer with our boys and asked Jesus to move the storm.  Over the next thirty minutes I watched as my boys with great fervor jumped, shouting at the storm, “My God move it! My God Move It!”

Over the course of thirty minutes, I watched as one small hole in the clouds turned into a great divide, splitting the storm above our backyard.  I learned a lot that day about faith. One small prayer, filled with faith, can indeed move what seems impossible. It may be small, but it matters most.

“…Truly I tell you,

if you have faith as small as a mustard seed,

you can say to this mountain,

‘Move from here to there,’

and it will move.

Nothing will be impossible for you.”

-Matthew 17:20

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
